Skip to content
Cambridge memories
MJ
Mike Johnston ·

Galt Collegiate Institute, Cambridge ON.
In 1853, the one-room Galt Grammar School was built on this site. Almost immediately, it began expanding in stages, with the building as it's seen today completed by the 1930s.
Under the guidance of headmaster William Tassie, the grammar school became a Collegiate Institute in 1872 and attracted boys from all over North America.
Tassie left in 1881, after a dispute with the province over new educational standards and the admittance of girls to the scool. His legacy lives on in Tassie Hall, added in 1925, which sits in the foreground of this photo.

1 Share

Share this post with the world

Share post